This is an advertisement

Call Us Today: (855) 976-9228 Current wait seconds

We are trial attorneys

Who get results

Request A Free Consultation

Sleep Time Pay vs On Call Pay

Question Under California or Federal law, are employees entitled to compensation for “sleep time,” although they worked 24 hour shifts, are on­ call, and are still under the employer’s control? Brief Answer Probably yes. California and federal laws state that employees should be compensated for all hours worked with no exclusions. If a shift includes 24 hours, but this does not include “on call hours,” but instead is a required amount of time worked. During this period, the employee likely could not leave their work place and was not allowed to partake in personal activities such as engaging with family. Therefore, due to the extensive oversight […]

Labor Code Section 2802 – Employee Expense Reimbursement Policies In California

California law protects employees who use their own money or equipment at work.  The Legislature’s intent is that employees should not bear losses or expenses incurred in the service of their employers.  There are a number of laws and regulations that require employers to reimburse expenses that employee incur or to pay for employees use of their own property. Labor Code Section 2802 Requires Employers To Indemnify Employees Labor Code section 2802 requires an employer to “indemnify his or her employee for all necessary expenditures or losses incurred by the employee in direct consequence of the discharge of his or […]

Laws For Rest Breaks In California

According to California Labor Code for Rest Breaks, Non-exempt employees are authorized and permitted to take a 10-minute paid rest break for every four hours worked or major fraction thereof. The Company authorizes and permits rest breaks according to the following schedule: A non-exempt employee who does not work more than 3.5 hours in a workday is not authorized and permitted to take a rest break.   A non-exempt employee who works more than 3.5 hours in a workday but who does not work more than 6 hours in a workday is authorized and permitted to take one 10-minute rest […]

California Meal Break Law

Meal Break Obligations You cannot employ someone for a work period of more than five hours without providing an unpaid, off-duty meal period of at least 30 minutes. The first meal period must be provided no later than the end of the employee’s fifth hour of work. The employer satisfies its legal obligation to provide an off duty meal period to its employees if it: Relieves its employees of all duty. Relinquishes control over their activities. Permits them a reasonable opportunity to take an uninterrupted, 30-minute break. Does not impede or discourage them from doing so. A meal break can […]

  • Request A Free Consultation

    • I understand and agree that by clicking "Submit" and transmitting information to CROSNER LEGAL, P.C.. I am agreeing to Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Attorney Advertising Policy. I also understand and agree that I am not forming an attorney-client relationship with CROSNER LEGAL, P.C. and CROSNER LEGAL, P.C. will have no duty to keep confidential the information I am now transmitting to CROSNER LEGAL, P.C. by clicking "Submit."

    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.